In the written language we use certain tools to communicate grammar and punctuation to arrange words into sentences and then arrange those sentences into paragraphs in a logical order in order to clearly communicate our thoughts, ideas and emotions in an overall effective composition. As a high school student, I know that fine arts courses teach students more than just skills specific to that one field, like how to connect with something and even how to better ones communication skills. Stop making pinch pots and build a 3-D printer and turn out artificial hands for homeless amputees. Copy and paste. ..and Im only in my 3rd year! If you do not appreciate it, it is your fault. And although I havent taught much at this term, I know my class have learned a lot and expressed themselves this term. Magazine articles and podcasts are opinions of professional education contributors and do Don't waste your time, go to college, earn your degree, become a lawyer, and then move on. Because it may receive less "flak" from the community by cutting fine arts programs, this may seem like an easy solution when dollars need to be cut; however, this is an inappropriate reason for cutting a program. But the get rid of art classes assertion is dumb as hell. I have some degree of technical ability that led me to be a great artist in my class but I cant formulate complete ideas to hash out on paper. Most of us go on to graduate school. The two (learning and creating) absolutely do not have to be conflicting ideas, in fact, they should be thought of as corresponding. Yes it is 100% about creative thinking and making, but not in the service of a single measurable market-goal. Or perhaps students with lower GPAs are not taking art classes because their schedule is filled with remedial academic classes. The same problem is occurring in schools nationwide. Art is a valuable commodity. However, if you have a school without an art teacher (or a couple of them), and without a classroom (or a spac